Primary School

Working Together To Create Confident, Lifelong Learners

Primary Curriculum

Bond Primary School is committed to meeting the requirements of the primary curriculum and ensure our schemes of work reflect the content and challenge of the curriculum. Teachers continue to receive training in the key areas of curriculum change in order to provide outstanding curriculum provision.


Our lively and broad curriculum is overseen by:

Ms R Tye - Deputy Headteacher

Ms C Morrell - EYFS Lead


At the beginning of each academic year, we invite parents to meet their child's new teacher and to receive information about the curriculum for their child's year group. This provides an opportunity to ask further questions and gain ideas as to how best to support your child's learning at home. your first point of contact regarding any curriculum issues is your child's class teacher - s/he will be able to address most of your queries. Ms R Tye and Ms C Morrell can also be contacted via the school office - leave a message with the admin team and the relevant staff member will be get in touch with you. 


The curriculum is taught with the consideration of the needs of all learners. It is exciting and inspires children to nurture a passion for learning.  The curriculum blends subject teaching with meaningful themes in a creative and imaginative way that allows children to take a full and active role in their learning. The themes allow our children to draw on their own family heritages and cultures creating a rich blend of learning. Families are actively encouraged to support their children’s learning and share their own experiences through home learning tasks. Educational visits are often closely linked to these themes and play an integral part to extending children’s experiences and learning opportunities.


The Primary curriculum is divided into three areas:


The Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the stage of education for children from birth to the end of the reception year. It is based on the recognition that children learn best through play and active learning.


The EYFS has four overarching principles:


1. Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

2. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

3. Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

4.  Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Within the theme of learning and development there are seven areas. There are three prime areas and four specific areas. The prime areas develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas while the prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS.


The three prime areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and Language


The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning.


The three specific areas are;

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The provision of the curriculum ensures that children experience a full range of learning opportunities including child initiated, teacher directed and group learning. Within the curriculum there are different ways in which children learn. These are known as the characteristics of effective teaching and learning. These describe how children learn across a wide range of activities. They describe how children learn rather than what they learn. The three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are;


  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creative thinking and learning


Reading and writing are taught through guided reading and guided writing sessions alongside daily phonics and supported by a structured reading scheme. Phonics is taught formally using the Letters and Sounds and Read, Write, Inc.


Children are assessed throughout their time in the foundation stage through observations, conversations and photographs. Parents, staff and the children themselves all contribute to the assessment process. In the nursery class the developmental phases are used for assessment purposes and the foundation stage profile in reception.


Key Stage 1 (Children aged 5 – 7)


The children in KS1 follow the national curriculum as well as the DfE guidance on RE and PSHE. The transition from Reception to Year 1 is dealt with sensitively, especially in the first term where Year 1 children continue to learn through play and have daily access to outside activities.  Year 1 teachers use the Foundation Stage Profiles (FSPs) to build an accurate picture of children’s learning and progress. All learning and teaching in KS1 is based on termly themes with children exploring subject knowledge through an overarching topic. English and Maths are taught daily and children have an additional daily guided reading session. The teaching of synthetic phonics continues through the use of Letters and Sounds. At the end of Year 1 children are tested on their phonics knowledge through the phonics screening check.


KS1 ends with children taking internally-assessed tests, however their end result will be based on the work they produce day to day in the classroom. The expectation is that all children will be at their Age Related Expectations (ARE) prior to continuing to KS2


Key Stage 2 (Children aged from 7 – 11)


All children are taught both the core and foundation subjects by their class teachers, though additional PE tuition may be given from Mrs Pearce, our PE teacher. Our curriculum will ensure that children’s learning is both meaningful and benefits from a specific focus on the core requirements of the English and mathematics curriculum. In literacy, this will be done through exciting, quality texts. The computing curriculum also integrate new technologies, programming and media into school life.


Reading and writing continues to be taught daily through the use of synthetic phonics and supported by a guided reading scheme and the use of Assessment to develop the children’s understanding of comprehension.  Regular, half termly assessment is also used to track progress in writing and maths.


In Key Stage 2 all children continue to follow the National Curriculum with the same subjects taught as at Key Stage 1 with the exception of Foreign Languages in KS2.


Wherever it is possible cross-curricular links are made between all subjects. 


At the end of Year 6 children’s attainment is assessed through the SATs tests in Reading, Writing and Maths. The expectation at this level is that children should leave the primary phase at their Age Related Expectations (ARE) prior to continuing to secondary school.